Cassius Life Featured Video
2000 NFC Divisional Playoff Game - New Orleans Saints v Minnesota Vikings

Source: Joseph Patronite / Getty

As the NFL regular 2017 season draws to a close, the latest crop of Hall Of Fame hopefuls have been announced.

According to the NFL’s official site, The 15 finalists are Tony Boselli, Isaac Bruce, Brian Dawkins, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson, Joe Jacoby, Edgerrin James, Ty Law, Ray Lewis, John Lynch, Kevin Mawae, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, Brian Urlacher and Everson Walls.

Players like safety Brian Dawkins, who was one of the best safeties in the late ’90s and the early aughts is likely to get voted in with ease thanks to his career-making plays with the Philadelphia Eagles, as well as Alen Faneca. Faneca was a dominant offensive guard who made nine Pro Bowl appearances and won Super Bowl XL with Steeler Nation. Brian Urlacher, a Chicago Bear for his entire career, holds accolades like Defensive Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and eight Pro Bowl appearances shouldn’t have much of a problem getting voted in his first eligible year.

But for some, the honor doesn’t come so easily—just take a look at Terrell Owens. In his first year eligible for the Hall of Fame he wasn’t voted in as a finalist and in 2016 he didn’t make the final cut. Yes, Owens is fifth on the all-time touchdown list but his off the field issues are what keeps holding him back. He’s allegedly taken jabs at other players, been suspended, and DeAngelo Hall says he spat in his face. Owens has a larger than life personality and has never been scared to show it on the field with his touchdown celebrations…

Randy Moss is also on that list of finals and like T.O., he was seen as a flashy distraction that put up amazing numbers.  Another definite lock is Ray Lewis who somehow played for 16 years, and made the Pro Bowl all but three years. The Baltimore Ravens will definitely have another bust to brag about come February 3.