Cassius Life Featured Video
2018 BET Awards - Roaming Show

Source: Paras Griffin/VMN18 / Getty

Nicki Minaj — Queen

The four-year wait is over. Nicki Minaj finally drops her long-awaited follow-up to 2014’s The Pinkprint with her fourth major studio album, Queen.

It was slated for release on Aug. 18, but Minaj moved the album forward by a week at the last minute. Last night, she hosted the premiere episode of her Queen Radio show on Apple Music, where she announced the LP’s early drop.

Minaj, who was joined on the show by an all-star cast that included Kim Kardashian West, Kelly Rowland, Justine Skye, Sevyn Streeter, Normani Kordei, Yo Gotti, and many more, also thanked her haters for their inspiration while making this album. “Who waits for four years for a female rapper and still care?” she asked during the show. “Thank you, haters.”

Several singles preceded Queen’s release, including “Chun-Li” which peaked at No. 10 on the Billboard Hot 100. The Ariana Grande-assisted “Bed” and the Lil Wayne-featured “Rich Sex” also appear on the LP. Listen to Queen here.

Trippie Redd — Life’s a Trip

Trippie Redd takes fans on another adventure with his latest release, Life’s a Trip. The 14-song project delivers new material upon growing buzz for the Ohio native and rising star.

Redd makes sure to bring some famous friends along for this trip. Fresh off his Astroworld LP, Travis Scott appears on the previously-released “Dark Knight Dummo.” Meanwhile, Young Thug and Reese Laflare pop up on “Forever Ever” and Diplo lends a credited hand on “Wish.” We Are the Stars, Scott Storch, Murda Beatz, Wheezy, and OZ were among the album’s producers.

Trippie continues his rockstar style on the new set, which features an array of screams and melodic harmonies, guitar riffs, trap drums, and emotional lyrics. “We’ve got to pull it together,” he sings on the opening track, “Together.” “We’ve got to do this together / We’ve got to keep it forever!”

Quavo Drops 3 New Songs

Quavo drops new drip. The Migos MC surprises his fans with a three-pack. Although it could have been packaged as an EP, the warning free release arrived in three individual cuts.

Ratatouille handles each track by himself, opting out of any big name guests. However, he does team up with some major producers for this trio of bangers, including Murda Beatz, Buddah Bless, and Smith Bros.

Among other things, the iced-out Quavo uses these new songs to showcase his extravagant lifestyle. “I park the Benz / Drop one off, then go shop with friends,” he raps on “Bubble Gum.” “This the type of life we live.” On “Lamb Talk,” he boasts about Quality Control: “QC the new Cash Money Records.”

Stream all three cuts below.

DJ Muggs — Dia De Asesinato

Critically acclaimed producer DJ Muggs and the Soul Assassins unleash a dark new compilation, Dia Del Asesinato, which roughly translates to Assassination Day. The new effort is a who’s who of gritty MCs over moody beats with boom-bap sensibilities.

Listeners will find critically heralded lyricists throughout. For example, Kool G. Rap, MF Doom, Raekwon, Mayhem Lauren, Mach-Hommy, and Freddie Gibbs all appear on the 12-song project. Some, including G Rap and DOOM, offer multiple appearances.

Up next, Muggs will rejoin B-Real and Sen Dog for Cypress Hill’s next album, according to reports. “Anything can happen when Muggs, B-Real, and myself get together to record,” Sen Dog told NME this month. “We were kids when we first got together. We’ve grown up as men now, but the chemistry is still the same. When we first came out in the ‘90s, we sounded like nobody else; we sounded like ourselves. This is another continuation.”

Ciara feat. Tekno — “Freak Me”

Ciara keeps the music rolling. After launching her own viral craze with “Level Up,” the singer-dancer goes the dancehall route with her new Tenno-assisted single, “Freak Me.”

“I know what you like,” CiCi sings on the track. “I love how you take care of me / That good-good always there for me / All I want, you got all I need / Loving on your body.” Later she adds: “I’ll be the freak that you need / I won’t tell nobody.”

This is presumably the second single off Ciara’s forthcoming album. If the veteran songstress offers up a new LP, it will be her first since 2013’s self-titled release. Listen to “Freak Me” below.

Reason — “The Soul”

Top Dawg Entertainment makes another major signing. The label, which already boasts a roster that includes Kendrick Lamar, SZA, ScHoolboy Q, Jay Rock, Ab-Soul, and more, has officially announced the arrival of Reason. The Carson, Calif. MC celebrated his deal with the release of a new track in the form of “The Soul.”

“A walking contradiction but admit mine / Outspoken but harbor my feelings inside,” raps Reason. “Until the beat playing or the pain come out / Let’s speak about what this game’s about / I gave it all to make it, I’m not leaving.”

Following the big announcement, Reason rejoiced in a statement to press. “Thank you to TDE for welcoming me to the family,” he said. “And a huge thank you to Top Dawg for taking a chance on me. You saved my life and I’m here to work.” Find his work below.