Cassius Life Featured Video
ABC's 'Jimmy Kimmel Live' - Season 16

Source: Randy Holmes / Getty

Trippie Redd — A Love Letter To You 3

Trippie Redd is back with another love letter. Shortly after releasing Life’s a Trip, the red-haired rapper-singer unleashes the third installment of his ongoing A Love Letter To You mixtape series. The first two helped him breakout in 2017.

The newest edition comes with big name co-stars. Juice Wrld, Emani 22, Kodie Shane, Baby Goth, NBA YoungBoy, and Nel-Denarro make guest appearances, while ChopSquad DJ, Honorable C Note, Diplo, Staccato, and Oz are among the producers.

A Love Letter To You 3 also features Redd’s newest hit, “Topanga.” The “Boy Meets World”-inspired track boasts more than 13 million Spotify streams and 2.6 million YouTube views.

In a statement to press, Trippie explained his purpose as an artist. “Singing real shit that people all over the world can relate to— timeless,” he explained. “Timeless music literally is a concept I can live on.”

Read between the lines of A Love Letter To You 3 below.

Tee Grizzley — Still My Moment

Tee Grizzley is out to prove that he isn’t going anywhere. Right on the heels of Activated, the Detroit rapper releases a new 15-song effort in Still My Moment.

Mr. Grizzley teased the project with his newest single, “Wake Up,” which features Chance the Rapper. But Lil Chano is far from the project’s only guest, joining Offset, Lil Pump, YNW Melly, and Quavo on this set. Helluva, Tay Keith, J. Gramm, Ant Beatz and more help behind the boards.

Still My Moment is the follow-up to Grizzley’s 2017 album, My Moment, which featured his breakout hit “First Day Out.” At the top of the year, Tee spoke with XXL about what fans can expect from this effort and more.

“When people hear my music, they ain’t really hearing about no shiny stuff, the glamorous life,” he said. “They’re going to hear that gritty, slum. It’s a dark cloud over my city. I’ve been through it and I’ma tell you in detail. A lot of people just ride past the slums in their music. Boarded-up trap houses, cars parked on the grass. I’m going to take you into those houses, into the minds of the people that’s in those houses.”

Masta Ace & Marco Polo — A Breukelen Story

Veteran rapper Masta Ace and seasoned producer Marco Polo join forces on A Breukelen Story. As the title suggests, the 19-song effort is a tribute to Brooklyn and its rich history.

Out via Fat Beats, A Breukelen Story features a variety of MCs with celebrated pens, including Elzhi, Lil Fame, and Pharoahe Monch. Ace’s eMC brothers Wordsworth and Stricklin also join the fun over Marco Polo’s boom-bap production.

“The album concept is about Marco Polo moving to Brooklyn from Toronto,” Ace recently told Complex. “Breukelen is the Dutch spelling of Brooklyn. The Dutch brought the name with them in their migration to the new world. There is a parallel between the migration of the Dutch to the new world and Marco Polo moving from Toronto.”

Listen to A Breukelen Story below.

Lil Peep — Come Over When You’re Sober Pt. 2

In the wake of Lil Peep’s death, the rapper’s mother Liza Womack presents his posthumous album, Come Over When You’re Sober, Pt. 2. The sequel to his debut collection features 13 tracks, including collaborations with XXXTentacion and ILoveMackonnen. Tentacion, also deceased, appears on “Falling Down.” Meanwhile, Makonnen guests on “Sunlight On Your Skin,” which closes out the LP.

“It’s finally here, at long last, guys,” Womack told fans on social media. “And don’t worry about the vinyl, and other physical versions of the album—you can get them at a store, not just online.”

Come Over When You’re Sober, Pt. 2 is a sequel to Peep’s breakout project, which featured hits like “Awful Things,” “Save That Shit,” and more, when it was released last year. The 21-year-old rapper/singer’s 2017 death was ruled an accidental overdose on fentanyl and Xanax with many other drugs found in his system, according to TMZ.

Listen to Come Over When You’re Sober, Pt. 2 below.

Wifisfuneral — Leave Me The Fuck Alone

Shortly after releasing his Ethernet effort, Wifisfuneral unearths his latest project, Leave Me The Fuck Alone. It’s a four-track set, featuring production by HenryDaher, Cris Dinero, and TNO. The lone guest is beta.files on “Pain.”

The project deals with various subjects, including plenty of introspection. All of this plays out over the course of “Alone as a Facetat,” “Pain,” “Suicide Note,” and “Ever Seen a Demon.”

“I was lost in a deep depression,” he admits on “Alone As a Facetat.” On the following song, he continues: “Been wanting to blow my brains for a minute / Hating my life, oh, I can paint you a picture.”

Listen to the somber EP below.

Anderson .Paak — “Who R U?”

Anderson .Paak continues to prep for the release of his highly-anticipated Oxnard LP with another new single. Following “Tints” with Kendrick Lamar, Anderson unloads “Who R U?” which features ad-lib assistance from his mentor, Dr. Dre.

“I had the vision back in 12th grade that I would be killing it with Doc Dre,” rhymes the Oxnard MC-singer. “I never want it to ever be over.” Later, he adds: “New enemies bringing my old ways back / Back in my day, would’ve had your whole face smacked / Look at you niggas, wonder why I fuckin’ hate rap / Ooh! What make you wanna go and say that?”

Oxnard arrives Nov. 16.

Ice Cube — “Arrest the President”

Ice Cube’s back. The venerated MC unleashes a brand new banger with a political message titled “Arrest the President.” Released on election week, O’Shea Jackson brings forth his powerful voice with a clear statement over ShawnSki’s potent production.

“Arrest the president,” he raps. “You got the evidence / That nigga is Russian intelligence / When it rains it pours / Did you know the new white was orange?” Later, he adds: “For the record, you affected / Who you elected is so septic / So full of shit, I can’t accept it.”

This is nothing new for the multimedia titan. Cube has been making political statements since the inception of his career. The former N.W.A wordsmith also launched into his solo path with a slew of politically-charged rhymes on albums like Amerikkka’s Most Wanted, Death Certificate, and more. Listen to “Arrest the President” below.

Aloe Blacc — Christmas Funk

Aloe Blacc is bringing the Christmas cheer a bit early with a funky twist on Christmas Funk. The 10-track project provides plenty of jingles for the holiday season, including classics like “Last Christmas,” and “All I Want for Christmas Is You.”

“We gon’ have a funky ass Christmas,” he sings on “Funky Ass Christmas.” “Fix that tree and lights / Everybody laughing, everything’s alright / We gon’ have a funky ass Christmas.”

Christmas Funk is the type of holiday album I have been waiting to hear for a long time,” he said in a statement to press, as per Broadway World. “These new song concepts and stories are my interpretation of the time I spend with family and friends. I’ve been a fan of Motown and soulful Christmas songs since I was a young child. As much as I love Sinatra and Nat King Cole, I feel like the holiday spirit needed a funky revival.

Have a funky Christmas below.