The Weeknd

Source: PYMCA / Getty

The Weeknd – My Dear Melancholy,

The Weeknd swooped down with a surprise. Just hours after announcing My Dear Melancholy, Abel Tesfaye unleashed his latest offering, a new six-track EP.

Moody and sensual, the new EP kicks off with “Call Out My Name” and ends with “Privilege.” French DJ Gasaffelstein is the project’s lone guest, appearing on two tracks: “I Was Never There” and “Hurt You.” The remaining solo cuts are “Try Me” and “Wasted Times.”

Within moments of its release, My Dear Melancholy, was being quoted all over social media. Fans choice shared lyrics were, “Even though you put my life through hell, I can’t seem to forget about you,” and, “Sex will get you high without no other substance.” Abel’s penchant for relatable, brooding lyrics and harmonies remains potent.

My Dear Melancholy, follows 2016’s Starboy. It also arrives before Abel headlines Coachella next month. Get in your feelings with The Weeknd below.

Cardi B – “Be Careful”

Cardi B is back with a warning. Before unloading her debut album Invasion of Privacy, the Bronx rapper unleashes her latest single, “Be Careful.”

Blending singing and rapping over hypnotic production, Bardi opens up about infidelity. “Gave you TLC, you wanna creep and shit,” she raps, with a tip-of-the-hat to Tionne “T-Boz” Watkins, Rozonda “Chilli” Thomas and Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes. “[I] poured out my whole heart to a piece of shit.”

The trending song borrows inspiration from Lauryn Hill’s “Ex-Factor” from 1998’s The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. It’s also inspired by Offset and tabloid rumors, according to some early speculators.

“Be Careful” follows “Bartier Cardi” and the massively successful “Bodak Yellow (Money Moves).” All three are expected to appear on Invasion of Privacy when it arrives next week (April 6).

Rich the Kid – The World Is Yours

Taking a page out of Tony Montana’s book, Rich the Kid rolls out his debut album, The World Is Yours. The star-studded 14-song project highlights some of hip-hop’s most prominent stars over booming production.

Kendrick Lamar shines the platinum-selling “New Freezer,” but the album also includes guest spots from Lil Wayne, Future, Rick Ross, Khalid, Quavo, Trippie Redd, and Swae Lee, among others. Offset even shows up on two tracks.

Recently, Rich the Kid explained what this album means to him. “Some people drop albums, but they’re not appreciating the music enough,” he told Complex. “This is my first album. I want to appreciate this first album and share it with the people.”

Tinashe feat. Ty Dolla $ign & French Montana – “Me So Bad”

Tinashe keeps revving up for Joyride. Following “No Drama” with Offset and “Faded Love” with Future, the sultry songstress enlists Ty Dolla $ign and French Montana for “Me So Bad.”

Over a dance-ready instrumental from Blwyrmnd, Hitmaka, Dre Moon, A1, and Wavy, Tinashe sings about her seductive traits. “You want some me so bad,” she teases on the hook.

Following Tinashe’s opener, Dolla gets X-rated. “I want her face-down,” he sings. Later, Montana raps: “Once I showed her the safe, she ain’t want no safe sex.”

Tinashe’s Joyride is due April 13. Listen to “Me So Bad” below.

Ty Dolla $ign feat. Gucci Mane & Quavo – “Pineapple”

After joining Tinashe and French Montana on “Me So Bad,” Ty Dolla $ign taps Gucci Mane and Quavo for “Pineapple.”

Dolla keeps the raunch going over this head-knocking beat. “Shorty saw my wrist, said it looks like a pineapple,” he raps. “Shorty super thick, she tastes like a pineapple.”

Guwop and Quavo follow that theme, too. “Yellow diamond ring on my fist like a pineapple,” raps La Flare. “Pineapple sweet, we geeked,” rhymes Quavo. “Pineapple coupe with the engine.”

Enjoy the “Pineapple” flavors below.

DJ Esco – Kolorblind

Although Kolorblind is billed as a DJ Esco project, it could easily be a joint effort with Future. After all, Pluto is featured prominently on every single song.

But Hendrix isn’t the project’s only guest. Over the course of 11 songs, DJ Esco and Future are joined by Young Thug, Rich the Kid, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, ScHoolboy Q, Ty Dolla $ign, O.T. Genasis, and Nas, the O.G. Esco.

DJ Esco and Future continue their one-two punch attack. They’ve joined forces on a variety of projects for years, including 2016’s Purple Reign and Project E.T.. Listen to their latest collaborations below.

Joey Bada$$ feat. IDK and Russ – “Lil Arrogant”

Joey Bada$$, IDK, and Russ aren’t afraid to get a “Lil Arrogant” on a boom-bap track with soul. Today, the trio let go of a Kanye West-inspired heater.

IDK jumpstarts the track with a nod to Yeezy’s “Barry Bonds.” “This what you all been waiting for, ain’t it?” he raps. “What people paid paper for, damn it.”

Jozif Badmon does the same to kick off his verse. “This what you’ve been waiting for, ain’t it,” he raps. “This a portrait, if you can see the picture painted.”

Finally, Russ rounds out the slapper with a preview of his sophomore album. “You not a part of the formula that put me here so fuck you / When the second album drops, watch who they all run to.”

Get a “Lil Arrogant” below.

Ama Lou – DDD

Earlier this week, the British singer Ama Lou released her debut EP, DDD. The 19-year-old Londoner co-produced the three-song project and directed its accompanying film.

Equipped with lovely vocals and evocative melodies, Ama Lou opens up with “Tried Up.” She follows that up with the funky “Wrong Lesson,” and closes things out with the jazzy “Wire.”

Her earnest lyrics shine along with an emotional pull. “I have no regrets,” she sings. “Tell me the same / Fuck being cold, I just don’t play that game.”

Ama Lou is currently on the road with the soulful Jorja Smith. Listen to DDD below.